Where We Work

Protected Areas in Nepal
© WWF Nepal
WWF began its support to the Government of Nepal in 1967 with the protection of species and their habitat. In 1980s, integrated conservation development projects paced way for people-centered conservation. Since late 1990s and 2000, the historic landscape-level approach for conservation was adopted that spread across ecoregions or ecoregion complexes in adjoining countries. Accordingly, the Government of Nepal incorporated Terai Arc Landscape (TAL) and Sacred Himalayan Landscape (SHL) as priority trans-boundary landscapes in the tenth five-year plan (2002/03-2006/07) and the three-year interim plan (2007/08-2009/10). Since 2000, WWF Nepal’s support to the government for the conservation of these priority landscapes has continued to grow stronger.


  • Protected Areas and Buffer Zones
  • Corridors and Bottlenecks